About Us

We are an academic initiative of the Western Naval Command primarily focusing on Maritime Research.
The Maritime History Society (MHS) came into being on 12 May 1978, to promote the study of India’s maritime history.
It was founded by the then Rear Adm MP Awati to promote awareness of India’s rich maritime history among young Naval Officers and the public at large.



Maritime History Society Seeks to evolve into a body of eminence in the field of Maritime History through nurturing of historical research among young mariners, showcase Indian Maritime Heritage and publication of emerging perspective for a vibrant and resurgent Maritime India.


Our Team

  •   The Sail that provides the energy to take MHS Team towards the Vision
    • Cmde Vikram Bakshi, Addl Director

    • Mr Mathew John,Asst Dir (Ops & IT)

    •   The strategic team that provides direction to the MHS Research Team
    • Vice Admiral AR Karve (Rtd), Patron MHS

    • Cmde Odakkal Johnson, Director & Head of Research

    • Prof Uttara Sahasrabuddhe, Academic Council

    • Dr Tejas Garge, Academic Council

    • Dr Rashna Poncha, Academic Council

  •  The vibrant Team MHS that makes things happen
    • Ashwini-Nawathe

      Ms Ashwini Nawathe, Archive & Collections Associate

    • Mr Sahil Mulla, Executive Associate

    • Ms Janhavi Lokegaonkar, Research Associate

    • Ms Amruta Talawadekar, Research Associate

    • Mr Dennard D’Souza, Research Associate

    • Ms Aishwarya Devasthali, Project Research Associate

    • Saba-Purkar

      Ms Saba Purkar, Academic Assistant

Our Future Aspirations